Skip to content

New Year – New Plans – New Pieces!

December 20, 2008

I’ve now arrived in Dubai (my hometown) and have finally got some free time to review how I feel Frost went and plan my next steps for the New Year.

Frost: All in all I feel the exhibition was a great success, we had a good number of visitors and buying customers. There were many sales over the 3 week period with almost everyone in the group selling work. Which is a great encouragement and considering it was our first year organising this exhibition and the first time I have organised anything like it on such a large scale I think it was a great achievement. There were also a few sales made during the Open Studios event on Saturday which was an added bonus because the Jewellery Quarter and The David Louis Project were buzzing that day! So after all the blood, sweat and tears, I do feel that the work put into Frost paid off and also that I have learnt a huge amount that will put me in good stead for future undertakings and in general with my business.

New Year Plans: Since designing and manufacturing my collection and exhibiting inside Birmingham before the New Year, I now plan to market it outside of Birmingham to get as much exposure as possible nationally. London is my first port of call – from 10th – 18th January I will be exhibiting at Designer Crafts at The Mall. This is an exhibition presented by the Society of Designer Craftsmen at where I believe Chelsea Craft Fair used to be held – but don’t quote me on that! I was very lucky to be selected from New Designers as one of their new merit licentiates and invited to exhibit at ‘The Mall Galleries’ in January. I will be taking along a selection of my silverware and my new jewellery collection.

I will also be attending The Worshipful Company of Goldsmith’s ‘Getting Started’ Course the week following that so I really hope to gain some valuable contacts, exposure and knowledge from that – can’t wait! It is a week long programme of masterclasses, seminars and other professional development activities which are content specific to jewellery and silversmithing.

And on top of those, I will be busy in March and April attending Talente in Munich and then Harrogate Trade Fair with the Design Space group. So watch this space because you might just find my name and work popping up all over the place before you know it! Atleast thats what I’m aiming for 🙂


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

